Games Galore

5 04 2017

IMG_6641Twinkl is so full of games my laminator sometimes never stops! One of the favourite ones this term was the subtraction pelmanism. I made 8 sets, all with different tape on so they are easy to pair. I love this game as it self differentiates by speed and by the way it is played too. Match together. Pelmanism alone, then play game with a Partner. Finally, for the hardcore… snap! 4 games in 1 developing speed and mastery!

Maths mania!

5 04 2017

The next resources are maths. I love twinkl for maths as I can dip in and out of different years and curriculum to get exactly what i want. 

First are these problem solving cards. I popped them around the room (hidden well) and sent my class to find them and answer them. I chose these for a few reasons

1) It was the end of term, we needed consolidation, after a few weeks learning strategies and applying them, how would they respond to these?

2) By positioning myself in one spot, i can watch everyone attempt a patricular problem, aiding as much as necessary. Assessment in action. Extention where required, revision if needed. 

3) its the end of term, we need active learning and fun! By hiding them all over the classroom (think under desks, behind whiteboards etc) we all had fun. We got up and hunted! If we found one way too tricky, we put a spot bext to it and carried on. 

4) Lastly, I had no marking. The children who finished used the QR codes on the ipad to mark their own. We then looked at ones they had got wrong, worked out why and they tried again. 





Mindfulness or motor control skills?

5 04 2017

IMG_6635.JPGOne series I can’t do without are the mindfulness colouring sheets. At the start of  the year all children were given one sheet which when completed made this beautiful sign. By double laminating, it’s still going strong! Billed as mindfulness, I take the opportunity to assess their fine motor control skills, pencil grip and attitude towards word. I’ve used some of the mindful quotes to decorate my wall and others as fast finisher choice activities.